Failed immediately after submitting the Job

I just followed the instructions provided in the tutorial from scratch.

submit.sh: line 68: sbatch: command not found
Error was trapped which is a nonstandard error.
Error in bash script submit.sh
Error on line 68

I followed the instructions given in tutorial (from scratch).
I used it on AWS with Slurm.

Can anyone point me as where to look for to fix this issue

Best regards,
Vishwa

In my experience if the command is not found then youre not calling it from the right folder. So even if the tutorial says for example submit.sh XXX YYY, sometimes in your own cluster you need to say where this submit is located e.g.: home/dagarshali/submit.sh XXX YYY

might want to try this

1 Like

Hi
This is my first time using HPC. I had set up AWS cluster with SGE and was using Slurm in my commands. I have since fixed that and I now get a new error as below

sbatch: error: invalid partition specified: test

sbatch: error: Batch job submission failed: Invalid partition name specified

Error on line 68

Invalid partition test. What am I suppose to give for that?

Best regards,
Vishwa

you have to replace test with the name of the partition you want to use.
you can see partition name with sinfo

1 Like

Thank you for the response… i did that… Now i get another error

** sbatch: error: Memory specification can not be satisfied**
sbatch: error: Batch job submission failed: Requested node configuration is not available

best regards,
Vishwa

Dear Vishwa,

Welcome to the VirtualFlow community :slightly_smiling_face:

Regarding the memory problem, each compute node has a maximum allowed memory which can be used by the SLURM jobs. If more memory is requested by the batchsystem jobs than is available on the compute nodes, then Slurm will show this error message and refuse to accept the job.

The total memory which you are requesting per node is the (memory per cpu) x (cpus per node).